Call The ICN Helpdesk 1-800-321-3054|helpdesk@theicn.org
School Nutrition STAR Program2019-04-16T15:53:09+00:00

The School Nutrition S.T.A.R. webinar series will feature school districts that have implemented creative strategies and best practices for common school nutrition topics as well as allied organizations who develop and offer free resources to support school nutrition programs.

Download the S.T.A.R. Program Action Plan
Click here for S.T.A.R. FAQs

April 2019 S.T.A.R. Webinar – Strategies for Implementing Safe Summer Meals


Key Area(s): 
2 Operations, 4 Communications and Marketing

Training Topic(s):
Food Safety and HACCP (2600), Program Promotion (4120)

Learning Objective(s):  Participants will identify food safety practices that are essential when serving summer meals.  Participants will identify strategies to promote summer feeding programs in their local communities.

Thursday, April 25, 2019/3:00-4:00 PM ET (2-3 PM CT; 1-2 PM MT; 12-1 PM PT)

It is never too early to create an outreach plan to promote safe, summer meals in your communities.  The S.T.A.R. webinar Strategies for Implementing Safe Summer Meals will focus on ways to serve safe summer meals and how one local district has implemented a successful summer meals program.  Theresa Stretch, MS, RDN, CP-FS, of ICN will discuss key food safety practices essential to a successful summer meals site.  Also joining will be Robert Cuellar, Jr., of the Laredo Independent School District who will share how his district promotes and implements the Summer Food Service Program at 100 feeding sites.

As always, a continuing education certificate will be available after completion of the webinar.           

Register Here
                   

Meet the Webinar Speakers:

Robert Cuellar, Jr.
Child Nutrition Program Director
Laredo Independent School District
Laredo, TX
Theresa Stretch, MS, RDN, LD, CP-FS
Education and Training Specialist II
Institute of Child Nutrition

Past School Nutrition S.T.A.R. Webinars

STAR – Strategies for Promoting School Breakfast

Webinar Downloads:

STAR – School Nutrition Programs Support a Heart Healthy Lifestyle

Webinar Downloads:

STAR-Competencies, Knowledge, and Skills for School Nutrition Managers

Webinar Downloads:

Strategies for Managing Conflicts in the Workplace

Key Performance Indicators for School Nutrition Success

October 2018

Title Date added Download
STAR KPI Presentation October 29, 2018 Download
Key Performance Indicators Measure It-Manage It October 29, 2018 Download

Food Safety Basics

Strategies to Integrate Nutrition Education Curriculum Within School Nutrition Programs.

Strategies to Integrate Nutrition Education Curriculum Within School Nutrition Programs.

Archived STAR webinar from June 2018: Creative Approaches for Professional Development in School Nutrition Programs.

Subscribe to S.T.A.R. Webinars

Sign-up to receive notifications of upcoming S.T.A.R. Webinars, training and resources.